Sign of the Times

August 22, 2014 § Leave a comment

This is another, albeit short, role playing post. That’s right, so soon after the last one. With the move going on I haven’t been able to do much else in my free time besides get a few shots in here and there in the game. Even still, there is something that I have been noticing about the game I am in.

Most of the people don’t use speech appropriate for the period. In fact, most of them speak as if they’re speaking right now. In some cases this makes sense or at least the fact that they speak with today’s sensibilities makes sense because it is a fantasy world and often times the problems of the past don’t exist there. Having a medieval knight say “My bad” might be funny the first time, but it seems so out of place.

The beauty of forum games is that you can so easily get into character because you don’t have to look at or hear the other person across from you not being what they are pretending to be. I’ve never been the performance type. Public speaking and acting and singing aren’t my things and even at my best in front of crowds I am insanely nervous.

So the online forum play by post game is something that I feel like was made for me and people like me. I just kind of wish there was more sense of character to it.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Sign of the Times at Pulp & Fiction.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 276 other followers

