I have been looking at the kind of magic system that I want to use with my stories. I was thinking about how I kept hearing that every book with magic needs to have rules or it gets out of hand, but then you think back on some of the great fiction out there like The Lord of the Rings and realize there isn’t very much you know about the magic sometimes.

That’s where this post came in from another blog on Sanderson’s First Law. The rule goes as follows: Sanderson’s First Law of Magics: An author’s ability to solve conflict with magic is DIRECTLY PROPORTIONAL to how well the reader understands said magic.

There is actually one other rule, but this is the very important one for what I am going to be talking about. This writer, the one who made this rule actually said that he thought the way that I did at first. He felt that all magic systems should have rules until he saw that some people actually like the mystery and mysticism in it. The thing is that I think I want to actually do something like this, I don’t want there to be a lot of rules.

What I want more is the main character to kind of be in awe of the magic and somewhat frightened by it. I’m still trying to work out a way to do this in an accurate fashion, but I at least have a starting point when it comes to what I need to work with in terms of the story planning.

Leave a Reply

