A friend of mine who is actually much more well read than me and I have been having discussions in the past few weeks about the books that she is reading now that school is over. Eventually these talks led to us discussing my own writing in relation to the things she had seen in the past and it’s weird to see that things I had no idea were popular or even used in fiction get used much more than I thought.

Back when I became obsessed with Nephilim (for those that don’t know a Nephilim is the child of an Angel and a Human) I had never seen them used anywhere in literature and I think I had heard tell of them in one movie. I discovered them when reading about something from the Bible and the concept was completely foreign to me but seemed so interesting. They’re now a prominent set piece in my fiction. The thing is, my friend also tells me that they’re getting more and more common in fiction in general.

There is a part of me that wants to seek out some of these books and see what other authors have done with this creature, but then again another part of me knows that could be detrimental to my writing. I wouldn’t want what those other authors are doing to creep into my own works and possibly taint it. But what if I am covering the same ground, the same ground that’s been covered over and over again. Shouldn’t I know what’s there so that I can avoid it?

Reading just inside of the area on which you are planning to write can hurt the diversity of your work and also contaminate it with played out tropes and old ideas. Truthfully there is nothing new out there. Everything seems to be a rehash of the old.

Right now, I’m editing and trying to pluck away a lot of the unnecessary fluff in the story that really serves no purpose. It’s hard work and I actually edit on paper which is why you don’t see me on this blog as much. It’s kind of an intimate process and there’s not much of interest that you’ll want to hear about from it. That being said, I will try and write more. 

Leave a Reply

