I have been thinking that I need to get back into the swing of things with writing. It’s been too long since I’ve actually produced something new and the truth of the matter is that you can only call it editing when you actually edit something.

I passed my story around a little bit this past week and so far people like it. The thing is that I don’t really trust the opinions of people whom I know and can talk to face to face. But at the same time some of these people have been critical of other things that I have done so I think it balances out.

There is also another matter at hand, I keep setting arbitrary dates in my head and then not making any progress toward actually getting something done. So right here, right now I am going out on the limb and saying that I need to have a completed story, ready to be edited by the fifteenth of August. And I need to actually try and do this by that date. I have a lot of the early edits done and I can hold off on them while I finish getting stuff onto the page.

A lot of the little details have been rapidly evolving. Names has been a big thing because once they’re out there, they’re final. So I settled on Madeleine and Wendy as the names fro the main characters. The other two, the supporting roles, I had a harder time with. It seems that Trey and Beatrix are going to be the names, though.

I also think I need to start doing short prompts. I have a book with some in it and I wrote down some of the ones that interest me most. So I can get back into the swing of writing characters…especially those from my novel (the one I’ve been neglecting since March). I need to get back to those characters because they were the ones I had in my head for over decade and it seems like there might actually be a chance for them to see the light of day now.

Leave a Reply

