This past week has been a bit rough for me for reasons I really won’t go into. But some old friends came to town and I got the chance to go out with them on Friday and just shoot the shit a bit. Needless to say it was really good to see them and to be part of a warm welcome for someone who has been gone almost a year.

I feel bad for the people who move and come back only to find out that most of their friends ignore their requests to hang out. I’ve had that happen before and I don’t ever want to be part of that when it comes to someone else. I make an effort to at least get out and see people when they come back to town. It helped me a lot to be able to in this case because I missed them a lot. More than I was willing to admit.

I guess that there’s this thing that happens when someone opens up to you and lets you into their circle of friends. Especially when they’re one of the first people to do this for you. Even if you only know them a short time it kind of makes an impression on you and that’s kind of the case here.

They’re headed back to the East Coast, but I know now I need to keep in touch better. It’d be shitty of me not to.

Leave a Reply

