outline-slideI’ve never been the kind of writer to use outlines when it comes to my writing. This isn’t to say that I think using or not using them are things that are inherently good or bad. When it comes to me, they don’t seem natural. It’s harder for me to format and make an outline that comes out to be more than a longish synopsis and that’s really what I have in my head as it stands most of the time.

I mention all of this because I am starting to think that the issues that I am having with writing are probably traceable back to the fact that I don’t put the plan down into words the way so many others do.

On the character side of things I have a pretty tight group of protagonists, but there really needs to be more than that for this to be what I want it to be. I had a series of short stories planned out under the Keep Austin Safe label and the one that I eventually went with is probably the most complex of all of them to tell because it involves more page count than the other ideas and more characters taking up more of the page space.

The problem I was having writing in first person has passed only to be replaced by the problem of not feeling like I am writing the right story. The idea has shifted so far from the little joke story idea that it was conceived as.

And the strangest thing is that as I was writing that last paragraph, the one you just read, I actually figured out how to fix one of the major issues that I was having with the story. I’m off to handle that now.

One thought on “The Glory of Outlines

Leave a Reply

