funny_best_friends_in_fingerAva Reynolds is one of the first characters I ever cooked up. She was the wife of my (then main) character, Lewis Reynolds and she was meant to be part mother part investigator. Somewhere along the line I made her into this bitter, horrible person that ended up grating on all of the readers who happened to get to read about her.

She was partially based on a friend I had at the time. A lot of the basis faded away and a lot of it was just kind of based on a sugar coated version of what I thought that this person was. It was kind of my first venture into writing characters based so heavily on friends and part of my feeling toward that person later might be what caused Ava to transform from the character I originally meant her to be into what he became.

With the recent loss of most of my old writing notes and me being forced to write a lot of those things over I actually ended up re-thinking how I had treated the character and what I could do to make it better. Inspiration hit me this morning and I went back and did something with this character that I hadn’t done in a long time. I wrote her in first person. To be honest, my first attempt at first person ever was with Ava and it was a whole novel.

Back then I didn’t know well enough to realize that I was writing utter shit, but the work was my first try at something I felt really uncomfortable with. Coming back to Ava and first person again in this new…piece (I’m not sure what it’s meant to be) is kind of nice because I know her so much better and I’ve done some refining and improvement on my work.

Can’t wait to see how this turns out.

Leave a Reply

