Duck Dynasty Debacle

91jKkcXxqRL._SL1500_I went in to work later in the day yesterday and my morning was filled with sleeping. I lazed about and generally didn’t do anything besides eat before going in. Facebook and Twitter kind of slipped my mind. At work I tend to stay off of them too.

So when I got home I was shocked to find out a small wild fire had erupted and spread throughout social media. One of the guys from Duck Dynasty had apparently said something stupid and been punished for it. The speed with which the two sides of the argument rallied against each other was alarming. I’ve never seen more than a few minutes off Duck Dynasty (which was enough for me to be annoyed). Today at work I counted five people wearing Duck Dynasty clothing in support of the show. It’s worrying that people are so in favor of homophobia that anytime some group comes out as being homophobic and gets stomped out for it that they step in to defend the group’s right to say that (even though the right of the group usually isn’t attacked).

I hope the show is canceled and I can go back to not seeing their faces on hats, lunchboxes and headphones. Maybe we can have one less reality television travesty to worry about.

Author: justincaynon

My name is Justin Caynon and I’m currently twenty-nine years old. I’ve been writing since I was about twelve or eleven years old. I read a lot as a kid and I think that led to me writing. The stories that I saw in books, movies, games and TV shows caused me to want to make my own. When I first started out it was all Fan Fiction. I liked the idea of playing with existing worlds and creating my own situations. The more I wrote though, the more I noticed that I was beginning to break out of those pre-established worlds and make my own. Sometime during high school I got it in my head that I wanted to be a published author. I didn’t know the struggle that it would be back then, but writing is what I love. It’s something I get passionate about and take seriously.

Leave a Reply

