combineI sat and tried to write for hours it seemed like and finally I decided that some drastic changes needed to be made to the novel. I’ve been sitting on this thing since late 2010 and it’s not going to do any work by itself, but one of the things that I have been noticing is that there’s an increased feeling that I need to do something about two of the characters and their roles in the story.

The first is the wife and while the solution for her was easy to work out it’s hard to execute. She needs to be a more likeable person. It was that simple.

The second character was the partner. The thing about this is that I have two partners. One dies early on and the other comes to take her place. The more I think about it the more I feel like there’s not much need for me to do the whole “dead partner” thing. She dies too early on for it to matter to anyone reading the story who she was. So the solution I came up with here is combine the two, make them into one character.

I’ve done this before, but never to one character of huge importance with another who was far less so. Moreover, a character still has to exist in the place of the one that died. It might seem weird, but it’s important to where the story is going. So I need to make space for that character and create a place for them that makes sense and doesn’t mess up the overall plot.

This is the kind of thing that sort of keeps me up until I figure something out.

Leave a Reply

