screenThe word count spreadsheet has been working out pretty well for me. All of the recent writing is kind of my excuse for not being around lately. I’m back to pulling out one thousand word days and developing a habit out of writing—I think that’s the most important thing that you can do when it comes to trying to be a writer.

Lack of writing is one of the things that people always seem to point to as one of their problems. I would write more if I just had time or I just can’t seem to write anything when I sit down or some other things that probably get said are going to work to the detriment of anyone who really wants to write.

One of the things I’ve learned is that it’s not always fun to do something that you want to do. People might think you’re taking the easy way out or they might think you’re not serious and thus they will sometimes treat your choice in career goal as such. But show them how serious you are by being serious. Set time aside to sit down and write. Make plans to write and stick with them and don’t be distracted by what other people want you to do and the like.

A few weeks back I basically stopped going out all together because it was a huge waste of money with almost no pay off where I was concerned. Work has been keeping me busy and when I’m not there I catch up on reading, writing and television shows. Oddly enough I’ve been happy with it. And because of the reading I’ve felt more inspired to write.

Probably one of the biggest changes that I’ve made to the story is that I’ve moved it out of the the Austin, Texas setting. That means that the title Keep Austin Safe has to go. I know Houston better, I have lived here for most of my life and it will be more powerful if all of this takes place in a city that I know well.

I do plan on posting a little excerpt from the updated story on here soon. I’ll link it to the post on the day that I do that.

But I feel good about the writing in general and I feel like I need to write. It’s a compulsion more than it is something I’m forcing myself to do and that’s what I want; I don’t want to lose it. I’m not promising to write everyday and I haven’t been—but I am holding myself responsible for writing as often as possible and making sure that I don’t do other things when I need to write.

Leave a Reply

