Reading for Inspiration

I’ve been having issues getting words on the page and it seems like the only remedy to this kind of thing is more reading. Probably going to end up re-reading some things. I’m feeling like I want to take another look at Gone Girl, because the book blew me away. And then I have been wanting to re-read the John Cleaver series for some time now. It feels like the only trilogy of books I have come across recently without a lackluster drop off at the end and Dan Wells isn’t afraid to take risks with his characters and situations.

Gillian Flynn, the author of Gone Girl, also has some other books out there I might need to look into. I read Sharp Objects, but she has one called Dark Places that I’ve yet to check out and I have heard it’s not as good as the other two, but it has it’s moments. She has a biting way of writing things that should be boring to read in a way where they’re not.

Most of her books are outside of my wheel house, but when a friend suggested Gone Girl I looked into it and saw all the praise. I couldn’t resist. Part of me wonders how much of the character of Amy made her way into Lissette.

There’s a backlog of books I should be reading here that I haven’t actually read yet. I might need to start with those.

Author: justincaynon

My name is Justin Caynon and I’m currently twenty-nine years old. I’ve been writing since I was about twelve or eleven years old. I read a lot as a kid and I think that led to me writing. The stories that I saw in books, movies, games and TV shows caused me to want to make my own. When I first started out it was all Fan Fiction. I liked the idea of playing with existing worlds and creating my own situations. The more I wrote though, the more I noticed that I was beginning to break out of those pre-established worlds and make my own. Sometime during high school I got it in my head that I wanted to be a published author. I didn’t know the struggle that it would be back then, but writing is what I love. It’s something I get passionate about and take seriously.

Leave a Reply

