It seems like I’m having to make posts like this too much lately. Actually, having to do this at all feels like too much. Especially when the person that’s been lost was so young and the death was so sudden.

A friend of mine, Andrew Kaluza, who I saw quite often back when I lived in San Antonio died last night in a car accident. Andrew is second from the left

Andrew wasn’t someone that I had seen recently. Sometime during the summer last year I was in San Antonio and he joined us out at a cafe where the black top was holding just a little too much of the heat for it to be considered comfortable, even by San Antonio standards. There wasn’t anything special about the meeting and I couldn’t have known I wouldn’t see him again, but we had fun. I think I got to call him “Woodsman” one last time. Let me explain.

He liked to hunt–and he liked to be outdoors and someone in our group in college, it was probably me, started calling him “The Woodsman”. And we were always making jokes and laughing and even when there was some disagreement it was never the kind of thing that lasted long. I think I was the only one who kept calling him it.

You can never tell which nicknames and in jokes will actually stick, really. I think out of that large group of us, Andrew was the one who seemed the most innocent and hopeful and positive. He was a bit of a romantic and he believed in people and their ability to do for themselves and for each other. Idealist. It’s not a bad thing, if anything the biggest problem is that we don’t live in the ideal world. It takes someone special to be able to ignore that and hope for the positive. Andrew did that.

I quoted something last night on my Facebook–it had no relevance at the time other than the fact that it was a quote from a show I was watching and it just felt important. It seems stupid to use words written in a script for a show when it comes to describing what’s happened here and what it feels like to have someone disappear forever.

But I think it fits and my mind can’t help but recall it.

“It all just disappears, doesn’t it? Everything you are, gone in a moment, like breath on a mirror.”

It’s not really all gone, though. There’s memories and the lives we touched and so much else we don’t understand after that. And I think that Andrew touched a lot of lives in a positive way. He will be missed and never forgotten.

4 thoughts on “In Memory of Andrew

  1. Andrew was a friend of mine as well. We knew each other from politics. He was a good man and always had a great attitude and words to lift your spirits. He worked hard, dedicated himself to his friends and people he didn’t even know.
    Rare are people like him. I feel fortunate to have known him.

    Like

  2. I knew Andrew from high school. We were in band and a few other classes together. Andrew was always In a good mood and always looking to make people laugh and smile. In a way, he was my mentor as we were both the class clowns and the “fun guys” in band. I just spoke to Andrew a few months ago as he gave me advice on how to proceed after working in Texas politics for a few years. I invited him to grab a beer next time he was around. I’m sad I’ll never get to have that beer with Kaluza.
    RIP my friend

    Like

Leave a Reply

