selfieIn a world of the aging situation comedy (Two and a Half Men) and the mysteriously popular situation comedy (Big Bang Theory) it’s nice to have something to laugh at on Network TV. After season three of New Girl grew stale (I still haven’t watched the very ending of it) I thought I was done with everything on the over the air channels except for Supernatural and Originals.

And then I heard Karen Gillan and John Cho were coming to a new show, Selfie. I’ve been a fan of Gillan since she stepped in front of the camera on Doctor Who back in 2010 and John Cho provided me with a lot of laughs in the Harold and Kumar series and a show that probably no one remembers called Off Centre.

Selfie is a retelling of My Fair Lady, which was a retelling of Pygmalion (which I had never heard of until this past week). Gillan plays Eliza, a woman with questionable social intelligence who enlists the help of Henry (John Cho) to help fix her. The comedy beats seem to be well spaced out, but the show is funny and more than once I laughed hard enough that my roommate stuck his head in to check on me.

Despite what the title and the theme song might make it seem like the show makes a sincere effort at using the core material in an updated way and showing some genuine emotion. Cho and Gillan are always fun to watch and both really charismatic. The one small gripe I have is that they probably shouldn’t have bothered to try and change Karen’s accent because she’s not consistent with it and how hard is it to say she moved here as a kid and she just never started to speak like us. She already uses the slang of an American, so it makes sense.

I really want to see this show make it and see where they’re going to take it. I worry that the premise is something they will have to adjust once things get further along. If you’re not wanting to check it out on Hulu, Selife starts Tuesday September 30th at 7:00 PM Central/ 8:00 PM Eastern.

Leave a Reply

