I’ve been stressed. I stopped by Wendy’s earlier and couldn’t finish a medium meal, which is not normal for me. Sleep is hard to come by and in the mornings I’m awake but don’t want to get up.

I lay in bed on my phone talking to friends and trying to avoid the bad news on sites like Reddit or Facebook. I throw on the MBMBAM podcast, but part of the way through I realized I’ve zoned out and don’t know what they’re laughing at. I missed the entirety of the last goof.

Work is surprising in that it is calming. No one really brings up the outside issues there and not many people really talk to me. I kind of like it that way. But the fact of the matter is it’s an election year and the things coming out of this election are causing me to be really afraid for my country.

Think that a few years ago a statement about binders of women or a weird scream was enough to get you flack. I miss the days of Bush and Romney when I look at the candidate that people have chosen to support.

There’s such an undercurrent of hatred in this election and the odd thing is that the guy stirring it up is somehow saying he’s the victim. He’s calling Mexicans rapists and bragging about sexual assault. He’s saying he wants to bring back unconstitutional stop and frisk laws and that he wants to default on our debt (which puts the world economy at risk). He’s asking why we don’t use nukes more often.

Notice I didn’t cite any of that. Mostly because it doesn’t matter. I’m on a phone and I won’t waste my time making the buggy copy paste system work for people who either know all that already or refuse to believe it. Even though it’s fact. It’s recorded that Trump has said these things; we’ve become anti-fact.

And the thing is what he’s taken advantage of scares me as much as Trump, because it will continue win or lose. There’s not really a chance for a conversation with people who are threatening to commit acts of terror against foreigners or “grab their musket” if they don’t get their way.

I’m thinking maybe America isn’t the place for me and a lot of people seem to not want people like me here. I’m thinking maybe this doesn’t get better after this.

Since people question my personhood still of ponder the idea of women not being able to vote can we really even say that we tried?

4 thoughts on “Scared For The Future of My Country

  1. Then America is in its long-needed rebirth process. If you and people like you are scared and thinking about voluntarily fleeing OUR nation, something is right about what is happening.

    We ARE taking our country back and you can either find a place within it, leave it, or end up underneath it.

    Like

    1. You aren’t taking anything back. You’re pretending like you’re the only one here. If Trump gets elected you can watch everything fall apart because he doesn’t know how to run a country. America as it is now is on the right path. You’re a relic.

      Like

      1. We survived the wounds of an Obama presidency and before that a Carter one. A POTUS not knowing how to “run a country” isn’t essential to the survival of the nation.

        As for being a relic – Perhaps. That in no way means that America is on the right path unless you believe the right path leads to something other than America.

        Like

      2. Wounds? You mean you survived him rescuing this country from backwards idiots.

        And the rest of the world has passed America by with good reason. We’ve spent too long listening to people like you.

        Like

Leave a Reply

